Category: Distinctions

The Max Bredig Award to Prof. Papatheodorou

Dr. George Papatheodorou, Professor of the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Patras and Collaborating Faculty Member of FORTH/ICE-HT, was awarded by the Max Bredig Award in Molten Salt Chemistry by the Physical Electrochemistry Division of the Electrochemical Society.

The Award Citation is “For major contributions to the understanding of the thermodynamics, structure and spectroscopy of molten salts over a career of more than 30 years“.

The Max Bredig Award was instituted in 1984 to recognize excellence in molten salts chemistry research. The Max Bredig Award Fund was specifically established for this purpose by contributions from the ARCO Metals Company and the Aluminum Corporation of America.

The Award was presented at the 13th International Symposium on Molten Salts at the Centennial Meeting of the Electrochemical Society in Philadelphia, 12 to 17 May 2002, at a special banquet which will be held in honor of Professor Papatheodorou.

Professor G. N. Papatheodorou (Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Patras) is one of the founding members of FORTH/ICE-HT, and served as its Director during the formative years 1984-1999.