Category: General Announcements

Stratis V. Sotirchos Award 2024

Stratis V. Sotirchos Award 2024

The 2024 recipient of the FORTH/ICE-HT “Stratis Sotirchos Lectureship Award” is Dr. Ryan P. Lively, Thomas C. DeLoach Jr. Endowed Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

Dr. Lively will receive his award in a special ceremony during the 14th Panhellenic Chemical Engineering Conference on Wednesday, May 29, 2024 at the Porto Palace Hotel, Thessaloniki, and will deliver a lecture entitled “Membrane technologies are key enablers of the energy transition”.

Ryan P. Lively received a B.S. in Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering and a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering both from Georgia Institute of Technology. After his Ph.D., he worked as a post-doctoral research engineer at Algenol Biofuels. His work at Algenol focused on developing energy-efficient liquid and vapor separation systems for downstream biofuel purification. In 2013, he joined the Georgia Institute of Technology, where he is currently the Thomas C. DeLoach Professor in the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

His current research seeks to revolutionize fluid separation processes critical to the global energy and carbon infrastructure. He has a specific focus on membrane- and adsorbent-based science and technology to address some of the most difficult chemical separations. His group’s research activities range from fundamental material science and discovery to translational engineering applications focusing on making and testing separation devices.

Ryan has received a variety of prestigious awards for his research efforts and he is currently an Editor for the Journal of Membrane Science and is the Secretary of the North American Membrane Society. He has over 160 publications in the field of separations including articles in Science, Nature, PNAS and other impactful venues.

FORTH/ICE-HT created the “Stratis V. Sotirchos Award” to honor the memory of one of its most distinguished Researchers, Professor Stratis V. Sotirchos, FORTH/ICE-HT Research Director. The awardee, younger than 40 years of age, is selected by a committee of internationally renowned scientists, on grounds of having produced original and fundamentally important results in chemical engineering sciences.


Previous Recipients of “Stratis Sotirchos Award”:

2022: Professor Fengqi You, Cornell University, USA

2019: Associate Professor Paul Dauenhauer, University of Minnesota, USA

2017: Associate Professor Hal Alper, The University of Texas at Austin, USA

2015: Professor Ali Khademhosseini, Harvard Medical School, USA

2013: Professor Michael S. Strano, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

2011: Associate Professor Yiannis N. Kaznessis, University of Minnesota, USA

2009: Associate Professor Patrick S. Doyle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

2007: Professor Costas Maranas, The Pennsylvania State University, USA

2005: Professor Michalis Tsapatsis, University of Minnesota, USA