STRATIS V. SOTIRCHOS Lectureship Award


FORTH/ICE-HT  created the “Stratis V. Sotirchos Lectureship” in 2005 to honor the memory of one of its most distinguished Researchers, Professor Stratis V. Sotirchos. This Award is supported by the “Stratis V. Sotirchos Trust Fund” which has been created from donations by friends and colleagues.


The SVS Lectureship is awarded every two years to an engineer-scientist, who has produced original and fundamentally important results in some R&D field within the broader context of chemical engineering. Selection of the most deserving candidate is made on an international basis and strictly on grounds of merit. Candidates should be younger than 40 years of age on the closing date for nominations.

The selected candidate is invited to present the “Stratis V. Sotirchos Lecture” at the “Pan-Hellenic Scientific Conference in Chemical Engineering”, which is organized every two years on a rotating basis in Patras, Thessaloniki, and Athens, Greece.

The travel (economy class airticket from the city of origin of the Recipient to the city of the conference) and accommodation expenses of the Recipient are covered from the proceeds of the SVS Trust Fund.

The SVS Lectureship Award is also accompanied by a modest honorarium.


2022: Professor Fengqi You (Abstract – pdf 15 KB)

2019: Associate Professor Paul Dauenhauer (Abstract – pdf 94 KB)

2017: Associate Professor Hal Alper (Abstract – pdf 92 KB)

2015: Professor Ali Khademhosseini (Abstract – pdf 345 KB)

2013: Professor Michael S. Strano (Lecture – pdf 9.2 MB)

2011: Associate Professor Yiannis N. Kaznessis (Lecture – pdf 3.8 MB)

2009: Associate Professor Patrick S. Doyle (Lecture – pdf 5 MB)

2007: Professor Costas Maranas (Abstract – pdf 11 KB)

2005: Professor Michalis Tsapatsis (Abstract – pdf 10 KB)